Monday, 12 July 2010

Nominations invited for the UKeiG Jason Farradane Award

Hot on the heels of the UKeiG Tony Kent Strix Award...

The UKeiG Jason Farradane Award is made to an individual or a group of people in recognition of outstanding work in the information profession. The Award embraces activities in the information profession in its widest sense, while the UKeiG Tony Kent Strix Award focuses more narrowly on information retrieval.

The Award is given in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the information profession, by meeting one or more of the following criteria:
  • raising the profile of the information profession within an organisation or field of endeavour in a way which has become an exemplar to others;
  • raising the awareness of the value of information in the workplace;
  • demonstrating excellence in education and teaching in information science;
  • a major contribution to the theory and practice of information science or information management.
Key characteristics that the judging panel will look for in nominations are innovation, initiative, originality and practicality. None of the criteria should be read as implying activity over an extended period. The Award is open to individuals or groups from anywhere in the world.
Nominations should take the form of a short description (no more than 3 sides of A4) of the work in question, together with full contact details of both the nominee and the nominator. Do not forget to include any documentation, references or URLs which may support the nomination. Nominations should reach the judges by Friday September 24th 2010.

Jason Farradane graduated in chemistry in 1929 at what is now Imperial College and started work in industry as a chemist and documentalist. He was instrumental in establishing the Institute of Information Scientists (IIS) in 1958 and the first academic courses in information science in 1960 at the precursor of City University, where he became Director of the Centre for Information Science in 1966. On the research side his main contributions lay in relational analysis, which can now perhaps be seen as providing a precursor to work in the area of A.I., and the concept of information. He saw information science as a step towards understanding and better organizing ourselves. The IIS first presented the award in 1979, to Jason Farradane.

Previous award winners have included: University of Warwick Library for The Learning Grid; Michael Koenig; Bruce Royan; Michael Keen; Newcastle University Library; Sandra Ward; Phil Williams; Phil Holmes.

Further details can be found on the UKeiG website at:

Nominations for the 2010 Award are now invited, and should be sent with full supporting documentation to:
Chris Armstrong
SY23 4TJ
Tel: 01974 251302

The closing date for nominations is Friday September 24th 2010.

Notes: UKeiG is an established professional group for all information professionals, users and developers of electronic information resources. The Group encourages communication and the exchange of best practice and knowledge across all sectors; and offers an e-journal, a mailing list, an annual programme of training courses; and an array of awards and burseries. UKeiG is a Special Interest Group of CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals. 7 Ridgmount Street, London, WC1E 7AE. Registered Charity No. 313014.

No comments: